Ideally located between sea and mountains, close to the Riviera cities and the International airport of Nice, La Colle-sur-Loup is a village in the Provence of the olden times, where life
is good, thanks to its mild climate, the quality of its environment, and beauty of it's natural areas.
At the gates of the Gorges du Loup, the starting point for many excursions and water sports, the town offers wild and preserved landscape.
At the corner of an old well, led by the scent of orange blossom, escape the laws of time and discover the secrets of the old village with its doors and sculptured facades,
chapels and even an abbey from the 12th century...
The village’s small secrets
The former prison : It dates back to the 17th century. Marvel at its original door hatch!
It marked one of the first steps toward the independence of the village.
The former hospital : Its creation was granted in 1723 in a house surrendered by a surgeon from la Colle. Then it was a school, and then private
The Chapel of the White Penitents : Did you know that the White Penitents played an important social role? They were devoted to the sick. The chapel was built around 1800 and perfectly
located opposite the hospital.
The church of St Jacques : At the end of the 16th century, the inhabitants undertook to fund the work. The construction was long and began with the side nave where the baptismal fonts are found.
Then, its neoclassical façade andits Renaissance style portal was completed in 1658. In 1673, the steeple was completed. The apse was added around 1833.
The St Jacques Chapel : It dates back to the 15th century. A pulpit was installed outside so that the faithful, who were too numerous, could hear the mass.
Viewpoint over St Paul : Take in the stunning view over the walls of St Paul de Vence, in this street full of history where the tram line passed in the last century.
The former station : This building served as a station for the tram from 1912 to 1932
Eugène sue : A famous writer, his family is originally from la Colle-sur-Loup. His bust was sculpted by sculptor form La Colle and was unveiled by Simone Signoret in the 1950s.
The Canadel gate : The Canadel archway is a relic of a carriage entrance, once providing access to the Abbey. It allows you to reach the village square where the Chapel of the Rosary, built in
the 17th century is located.
The abbey : Built in the 10th century, this is the oldest building in the village. Its 12th century chapel is classified as a historical monument. Be surprised by this monumental building for the time.
Practical information :Guided tour of the village by booking 48 hours in advance (€3/person, €2/person if a group with a minimum of 6, free for children under 12 years old and school groups).